WASHINGTON ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

Thursday, January 13, 2022 Open and Closed Session -Zoom Meeting at 6:00 p.m. APPROVED MINUTES

Due to the COVID-19 virus and current Public Health Emergency, emergency and necessary precautions have been put in place to ensure safety of Board of Education/Committee members and the public. Board of Education/Committee members may participate through virtual/remote conferencing for this meeting. Members of the public will also be able to access and monitor this meeting by joining the virtual/remote conference using the following link:

Join Zoom Meeting https://us04web.zoom.us/j/74664100042?pwd=s3ggi3dDuRrk6aTAbQH7pkq5xWhNBx.1

Meeting ID: 746 6410 0042 Passcode: 4UXYdg This is also posted on our webpage to access

Upon reasonable notice, appropriate accommodations will be provided for people with disabilities or any person who is unable to access the virtual/remote meeting. For additional information or to request accommodations, please contact Sue Cornell at (920) 847-2508 or sue.cornell@island.k12.wi.us. This meeting is a meeting of the Board of Education in public for the purpose of conducting the School District's business and is not to be considered a public community meeting. There are times for public participation during the meeting as indicated in the agenda.

<u>Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance</u> - President Amy Jorgensen called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. <u>Principal/Curriculum Director</u>: Michelle Kanipes; **All other meeting participants attended the meeting remotely using the Zoom platform.** <u>Board members</u>: Amy Jorgenson, Mike Thielke, Sara Sorensen, Kirsten Purinton, Bob Wagner; <u>Administrator of Business Services</u>: Sue Cornell; <u>Staff members</u>: Margaret Foss, Marleen Ehrlich-Johnson, Tim Verboomen, Miranda Dahlke, Michelle Welke, Melanie Jones, Alyssa Wagner, Rick Weilbaker, Zuzka Krueger, Kayla Mann, Kaitlyn Stoller, Donna Breisemeister, Rick Weilbaker; <u>Community Members</u>: Jenny Perez, Sarah Duggan Goldstein, Brett Goldstein, Joel and Krista Gunnlaugsson, Jenni Verboomen, Andy and Lisa Munao, Larry Miller, Tyler and Katie McGrane, Hans and Dr. Beth Lux, Michael and Dani Gillespie, Robyn Weilbaker, Hoyt Purinton, Laura Findlay, Paola Valentincic, Julia Valentincic, Don Johnson, Max Johnson, Liz Pratt, Kevin and Barb Krueger, Kraig Krueger, Mike Kickbush, Megan Lindgren, Becky Steffen, Loren Roznai, Pete Nickolai.

1. **MSP (Sorensen/Wagner)** to approve the agenda as amended (item was tabled). Approved 5-0. 2. Public comments will be allowed regarding each agenda item as allowed by the BOE. Please keep comments to 3 minutes or less.

Open Session:

- 1. Discussion and potential action for the Town of Washington to install a transfer switch at the well/water station **Tabled.**
- 2. The Board discussed options and listened to audience members comments and action regarding potential school learning instructional options and Covid-19 mitigation protocols. The board discussed the updated CDC protocols for isolation, close-contacts, masking requirements, and styles of masks recommended by the CDC.
- MSP (Thielke/Wagner) to return to in-person instruction on January 17, 2021, with a return to extracurricular activities. Approved 4-1.
- MSP (Thielke/Jorgenson) to approve change the Back to School resolution to change the language about style of masks allowed to align the updated CDC guidelines. Approved 5-0.
- MSP (Jorgenson/Sorensen) to accept the new CDC Covid-19 guidelines form concerning isolation, masking, and close contacts protocols and add this to the district Back to School Covid mitigation parent packet. Approved 5-0.

Closed Session:

MSP (Sorensen/Thielke) to go into Closed Session at 7:34 p.m. pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes 19.85 (1) (c) (e) and (f) the Board of Education may move into Closed Session for the purpose listed below:

- 1. The Board discussed, then **MSP** (**Purinton/Wagner**) to accept the letter of resignation from Michelle Kanipes. Roll Call vote: Jorgenson-aye, Wagner-aye, Thielke-aye, Purinton-aye, Sorensen-aye. Approved 5-0.
- 2. **MSP (Sorensen/Thielke)** to return to Open Session to action at 8:02 p.m. Roll Call vote: Jorgeon-aye, Sorensen-aye, Thielke-aye, Wagner-aye, Purinton-aye. Approved 5-0.

Open Session:

- 1. Amy Jorgenson announced the Board accepted a letter of resignation from a district employee.
- 2. MSP (Thielke/Wagner) to adjourn the meeting at 8:03 p.m. Approved 5-0.